Skip to content

“Everybody was kung-flu fighting…..”

October 9, 2009

Friday…  you just don’t know how grateful I am that it’s Friday… end of the work week…  aaaahhhhhh. 

What that really  means to me is that my husband will be home all day for two days straight to help fight the war on the flu!  Let’s just say that this tired, worried and pregnant Mama had a minor breakdown last night that included some very pathetic tears.  Aidan is still sick.  He was really sick last night, but seems to be a little better this morning.  I’m contemplating, very seriously, a visit to his doctor today.  I really don’t like taking my kids to the doctor… I swear it seems like every time we go, someone else gets sick with something else.  Anyone else find that to be true?  

Or am I the only one… and that by admitting my resistance to doctor visits, it nominates me for the “Neglectful Mother of the Year Award”? 

Thankfully, the rest of us seem to still be well with no flu symptoms in sight.  This morning, while savoring my morning coffee, I paired up all my squares for the Value Quilt.   Can’t wait to get them all sewn together and play with the design.  Those are my weeked plans, sewing and flu-fighting (“Everybody was kung-flu fighting“…. name that song and artist!), along with a trip to the health foods store for some vitamins and some vintage shopping for this  vintage swap.  Such a hardship, that vintage shopping!  Pure drudgery……. I wish you all a fun, happy and HEALTHY weekend!  ….and then please send some of those HEALTHY vibes our way! 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2009 10:25 am

    Definitely not ill-founded. I’ve even noticed that with myself–go to the doctor for little thing “A” and come home with way more annoying thing “B”. Hope your little guy is feeling better soon, and hope you can get some rest!

  2. October 9, 2009 10:48 am

    When my kids were little, making an appointment for the doctor had the opposite effect.
    I worked full time in those days.
    The routine would go like this –
    Day 1. Kid not very well. I go to work, feeling slightly guilty, but thinking Kid would improve.
    Day 2 (or so) Kid worse. I decide to phone Dr for appointment. Receptionist always made me feel bad for being at work with Kid sick.
    I leave work early to take Kid to doctor.
    After long wait in Dr’s reception area with scary, germ-breathing people, we finally get in to see the Doctor.
    hey Presto! Kid miraculously better. (except for the time when one of them threw up. yuck).

  3. October 9, 2009 11:04 am

    ok- if that makes you the ‘neglectful mother of the year’ than i am for sure the first runner up. i feel the same way. hang in there mama, i’m sure the end is in sight!

    oh- and the song…

    kung fu fighting…carl douglas…

    ok- i had to look up the singer. i mean, did he do ANYTHING else??? and great- now it’s in my head…

  4. October 9, 2009 11:06 am

    Oh man, hope you all are on the mend and drinking lots of fluids.

    I’ve got all mine sewn and hoping for a weekend of child playing blissfully by himself so I can just sew. Ha ha.

  5. October 9, 2009 11:08 am

    Please take some time for yourself this weekend. It is so hard as the mama to make some space just for you, but you need to do this especially with sick kids. Believe I’m about to go out of my mind having three home sick. I would relish the chance to go out vintage shopping.

  6. October 9, 2009 11:09 am

    If that is neglectful, than I am in some serious trouble :). I avoid the doctor’s office like the plague. We can go in for stitches and come out with swine flu. Especially with something like the flu, where you know that it most likely has to run the course, it just never seems worth it.

    I wish you a weekend of much rest, and hopefully an end to the flu for your little one.

  7. October 9, 2009 4:04 pm

    Well, I certainly know how you feel! I have a 4 year old with the stomach flu. We were in the dr’s office for his 4 year physical 3 days ago… hmmmm. Hope you are all feeling better soon… flu-wise and stress-wise!

  8. October 9, 2009 4:13 pm

    Yuck, sure hope he’s feeling better soon, yeah for the weekends. It’s so nice to be able to pass some parenting duties on to hubby.

  9. October 9, 2009 5:03 pm

    So sorry he’s still sick…I know how terrible it is. And I tend to think it’s makes you a best parent of the year for avoiding the doctor unless you have to! Hope he gets better soon.

  10. October 9, 2009 6:00 pm

    Sending healthy thoughts your way!
    And look at all of those beautiful quilt squares – can’t wait to see them all sewn together…have a great weekend!

  11. October 9, 2009 6:36 pm

    hear hear! dr.’s office is worse than airport for us. always sick after. healing vibes your way, mama!

  12. lara Mijatovich permalink
    October 9, 2009 9:22 pm

    The thread breaks when you’re hand quilting because of natural tension when pulling the stitches through. I thread the needle and leave a long tail (8-10″) and move the needle up (thereby shortening the tail) every couple of stitches so the needle isn’t wearing the thread out. Does that help?
    If you get too busy with the new baby and all, you can always ship your quilts to me and I’ll stipple them all over with the APQS! What batting do you like? I’m crazy in love with Quilters Dream cotton in select or request…..

  13. October 9, 2009 11:10 pm

    I am so sorry your boy is still so sick- poor thing, poor you!

    There is actually a “playroom” at our Doctor’s office, which my kids have absolutely never stepped foot in. Counter intuitive, or what!

    Best of luck this weekend!

  14. November 17, 2010 4:48 am

    health foods that are organice and have natural source should be the stuff that we should take ,`”

Leave a Reply

