Skip to content

Vintage Finds…

October 8, 2009

Aidan is still sick… but thankfully the rest of us are still flu-free.  Thank you so much for all the well wishes! 

Not too much is going on around here as I am keeping the kids as separated as possible.  Girls playing upstairs and Aidan downstairs on the couch.  I spend my time going up and down those blasted stairs… being 7mo pregnant, stairs have taken on a new meaning… and it ain’t good!  But I find myself with some down time here and there so I’ve been working on hand quilting (my thread keeps breaking in the eye of the needle…any idea why?!)  and this tutorial.  Squares are all cut out, so now I’m working on getting them sewn together.  Lots of fun playing with them on the flannel wall!

 

 

I’ve been wanting to share my vintage finds from mine and Kris’s “date” the other weekend.   Found some vintage pillowcases to add to the evergrowing stash….. I really don’t need more, but I just can’t resist them.

 

LOVE these pillowcases… the one on the top is a vintage baby pillowcase… it’s so small and soft!

 

This lamp made me sqeal… out loud much to my husbands horror… and it  now resides in our bedroom!

 

And this pretty robins’ egg blue bowl practically leaped into my arms!

It has those handles on both sides of the bowl…

 

And this was my favorite find of the day… a vintage baby blanket in pristine condition… just look at those apples… sighhhhhhh…. I can’t wait to wrap up this new boy of mine in this adorable blanket!

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2009 8:50 am

    Your quilt is going to be so lovely. & oh how I love to see quilts that are hand quilted. It just says “love” to me. About your thread.. I’m no expert but I’ve found that using quality “quilting” grade thread works so much better for me. It’s much thicker and stronger. I can’t wait to see the finished product!

  2. October 8, 2009 9:17 am

    Your quilt square looks great, can’t wait to see the final thing. I love that blue bowl and the apple blanket, how fun. Glad your little guy is doing better, and hope your stair climbing will soon cease.

  3. October 8, 2009 9:48 am

    Oh, that quilt, those colors. I love it!!! Would never have thought of using a flannel way — brilliant.

    Hope your little guy gets better soon and that the rest of you don’t get it. Good luck with the stairs!

  4. October 8, 2009 11:45 am

    Oh, wow! Such amazing finds. I just love that baby blanket! Hope everyone gets well soon!

  5. October 8, 2009 1:07 pm

    Love love love the fabrics you’ve chosen for the quilt!!! It is so much fun to make anything when you are using such delightful fabrics!!! Happy creating!

  6. October 8, 2009 1:41 pm

    I have found that there is a lot of cheap thread out there (why do they bother to make this stuff?). I am now buying only quality threads, even if they cost a bit more. I watch for sales at Joann Fabrics, or use the coupons they give out. It is frustrating to have a thread break, and have to take out a whole row of stitches and start again. And for quilting, definitely look for the quilting weight thread.

  7. October 8, 2009 2:02 pm

    oh my goodness! i can hardly handle all those finds! that lamp!!!

  8. October 8, 2009 5:00 pm

    lovely fabrics in your quilt! those pillowcases are beautiful too. Hope your little one is better soon!

  9. October 8, 2009 7:41 pm

    Ok you need to give me a lesson on how to find vintage stuff. I must be the only one who can’t find anything. Any tips to help a novice?

  10. October 8, 2009 11:47 pm

    Love your vintage finds! Such a score!

  11. October 9, 2009 6:02 pm

    Oh, don’t you just love a good vintage score?? Love those pillowcases for sure – they’re hard to pass by! And the little lamp is great, too. Fun stuff!

Leave a Reply

