Skip to content

Handmade Celebrations…Join me!

October 1, 2009

October 1st… exciting and nerve wracking all at the same time.  It starts my “busy season” so to speak.  It’s my favorite time of year… the weather changes, the warm cozy clothing come out of storage, hot comforting meals adorn our table and we start celebrating a run of family holidays.  This year will be busier than ever I expect.  Busy, Busy, Busy…although I’m sure the majority of us feel that way!  But for our family, starting with October, starts a string of holidays and celebrations.  This October, Aidan turns 9 and we celebrate Halloween.  November is Thanksgiving.  December this year will include Lilianne’s 7th birthday, Kris’s 33rd birthday, Sarah’s 5th birthday, Christmas  AND the birth of our 4th (boy!) just days before Christmas.  I like to include handmade gifts and decorations in all of that celebrating.  This year, that means that this Mama has to be working ahead of time if she wants to get anything handmade done! 

In light of that, I’m organizing a little flickr group for handmade gifts and handmade decorations!  I’m calling it “Handmade Celebrations”  and any pictures of your handmade gifts and handmade decorations for all holidays and celebrations are Welcome!!  On the blog, I’ll be showcasing tutorials and ideas of others (and a few of my own) for this “multi-holiday” season I’m about to embark on.  Also, I’ll be showing you gifts and decorations that our family makes as we get them finished. 

I’m working on my list… planning what I want to make for family members. Andd the things I want to make with the kids to decorate for our celebrations!  Things like this, this, this, this and thisBat Mobiles to hang in the windows, turning some of my girls baby clothes in doll clothes for their babies, stuffies that have yet to be decided on, fabric banners, crochet scarves and hats, christmas tree ornaments, a fabric garland and a multitude of other ideas swimming around in my goofy head.  This awesome list provided by Handmade Homeschool has a list of soooo many great ideas that I find inspiring!

I’m so excited about this project.  Anyone want to join me?  Get sewing, knitting, crocheting and crafting for this upcoming holiday season!  Post photos of your gifts and decorations on the Handmade Celebrations Flickr group andshow us what lovely things you make.  I can’t wait to see you’re doing!

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 10:38 am

    What a great idea. I keep thinking I’d like to start making more things for gifts, but I don’t knit, crochet or sew. I need to come up with something. By the way I think you are both brave and nuts for trying to fit so much in right before having a fourth baby. Good luck!!!

    • minivanlife permalink*
      October 1, 2009 10:43 am

      Ivy, nuts is probably right, but I think it’s the Nesting Phase driving me! Might as well make good use of it!

  2. October 1, 2009 12:40 pm

    Oh what a wonderful idea! I will post a link on my blog tomorrow, and you should post this to the vintage swap too!

    Did you do those pumpkins in the picture? The picture and the pumpkins are stunning!

  3. October 1, 2009 1:16 pm

    I have the crafty/fall bug too….. I am planning on making some redwork embroidery pillow cases, repurposed sheet pajamas, knitting scarves, and who knows what else. I posted a few pics on the flickr group

    • minivanlife permalink*
      October 1, 2009 1:34 pm

      Thanks for adding those pics Sandee! Heather, you are so sweet to add my link to your blog!

  4. October 2, 2009 12:58 am

    Those were some great links, thanks for sharing. Can’t wait to see some of your flickr pictures.

  5. October 2, 2009 10:16 am

    What a great idea. I love to give handmade things. This sounds like so much fun. I look forward to it. Take care.

  6. October 4, 2009 8:45 pm

    Oh, this looks like so much fun! I’ll add things as they happen around here. I should be thinking about getting started too!

Leave a Reply

