Skip to content

Friday happenings…

September 18, 2009

Friday………. again!   I just don’t see how the week can go by so quickly.  But every week I think that same thought. Anyone got anything fun going on this weekend?  We are going to our local fair tonite or tomorrow, depending on the weather (it’s been raining for days).  It’s an agricultural fair, believe it or not, no rides or creepy game vendor people taunting you to come play their game!   Love that.  Just lots of food, animals and exhibits.  Love it, love it, love it….   Also, I’ll definitely be switching out summer and fall clothing and sorting thru stored baby clothing and diapers.  What I was supposed to do last weekend, but instead I laid around in misery.  And then there’s the sewing… I hope to get lots of that done as well!

Finally, after procrastinating just a wee bit, three pair of the PJ pants are completed….  several more to go.  I will have the tutorial posted first thing Monday morning!  It’s already in the works.  These pants are so easy and quick to whip up.  And cute to boot! 

 

Had to add a little length to one pair so far (and will have to add length to several more for my leggy gal).  I used the hem from another vintage sheet….  I really like the contrasting hem…

 

Trying to think ahead for Christmas…  fabric for a secret project….  I even bought some new fabric from our local quilt shop to contribute to the “project”.  The Snippets line by American Jane that Moda puts out.  Isn’t it pretty?!  So fun and bright….

 

The rain finally let up yesterday afternoon so there was more soccer practice….

So, tell me, what are your big plans for this weekend? I’d love to hear about them!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2009 8:08 am

    Loving the extra contrasting cuff on the pants, gorgeous. Hopefully the rain holds for you guys. Our plans for the weekend so far are the farmer’s market and a picnic at the park. Have a great weekend.

  2. JOYCE KEEN permalink
    September 18, 2009 8:47 am

    My plans for the week-end…..ugh….Get ready to go to your house and camping, yee pee!!! Counting the days down. Pops said this morning what is on the agenda forthe week-end and I said to get ready to go up north to see those babies. Hope the rain holds off for us but it really don’t matter, it will be fun regardless. Can’t wait to see the long legged beauty and the little short legged princess in their new pj’s. They really turned out cute. You really have a knack for matching material. Give my babies a hug and tell thim Mema will see them soon.

  3. September 18, 2009 9:25 am

    I love that floral band at the hem. This weekend my big plans are to rest and clean my house. Exciting, I know!

  4. September 18, 2009 1:16 pm

    Those fabrics are gorgeous! I have started on birthday and Christmas Pj’s for the little ones as well, and I am excited to get them done.

    This weekend, my two boys are heading up to camp with another dad and his two kids. This is the first time ever that I will be out of reach of my kids, and that they will be in the wilderness with out me. To say the least, I am freaked out to the core.

    Enjoy the weekend

  5. September 18, 2009 2:26 pm

    Love, love your p.j. pants!!
    I am *drooling* over those stacks of fabrics, so lovely : )
    Happy weekend to you!
    Birthday crafting and menu planning for my father-in-law’s birthday celebration at my house this weekend are a few plans…

  6. September 18, 2009 3:33 pm

    My plans for the weekend? Grocery shopping and housework. Blah! But I will be looking forward to Monday when you post your tut. I just told Goose last night that I would make her some new pjs. Perfect timing! Your fabrics are gorgeous. I’d love to make a quilt with some similar to what you have. Have fun at the fair!

  7. September 18, 2009 6:10 pm

    I hope you enjoy the agricultural fair and the weather is kind to you. Our local fair in Ashover – Derbyshire was earlier in the year and is so much fun – check out my blog for the slide show of activities. Next year I am going to enter some of my preserves, perhaps lemon curd as it is my favourite at the moment.
    Weekend plans: cooking- yet more beetroot chutney, making more sock monkey’s and shopping for ingredients as my Junior Cookery Club starts next Tuesday and the theme this session is ‘Cookies’.
    Have a good weekend

  8. September 19, 2009 11:16 am

    OK, after reading your blog and looking at all of your lovely pictures, I have decided maybe you can help me. My husband bought me a sewing machine, which I have pretty much figured out how to use. My problem is reading patterns. I just cannot figure out how to use them. I have no one to teach me, and as we are (as long as all goes right) moving into our house where I can have the sewing/craft room I have always wanted, I need to get this figured out. Do you have any advice for me? Also, since we are both having boys around the same time, I wonder if you have any name ideas. It is so easy for us to name girls, but when it comes to boys we are clueless… alright, enough rambling!!!

    • minivanlife permalink*
      September 20, 2009 11:33 am

      Amy, I’d be glad to help in any way that I can! I taught myself to sew over the past several years. Have you looked at any videos on youtube? There is a WEALTH of info on there! Name ideas? Man, we’re struggling over here too! So far the favs are Jacob and Wylder. But we are no where near ready to decide for sure!

  9. September 20, 2009 7:32 am

    just popped in from the vintage swaps site. i took a double take at your top photo because i have the same sheets i thrifted last summer! i use the pillow case from the top right picture as my sewing machine cover! small world ay?

    my plans this weekend..breakfast at the beach, hopefully some apple picking.

  10. September 20, 2009 12:51 pm

    I love the fabric combinations you have used in these pants. …and your fabric stack. I’m eyeing the one with the little child especially.

    I have a giveaway going on this week for some vintage pillowcases…maybe useful for pants for a little one.

  11. September 20, 2009 9:01 pm

    Great shots and I love your mosaic. I see that you quilt and I went to a quilt show this week and took lots of photos that I will post this week.
    Joyce

Leave a Reply

