Skip to content

Pillowcase PJ Pants…

September 11, 2009

Yesterday, my middle child, Lilianne, 6, came to me and asked for some new pajama pants.  It’s getting cooler in the evenings now and all hers are about 4 inches too short now!  When did she get so tall?!  I’ve made some gowns from my vintage pillowcase stash before and while they loved them then, they prefer pants now.  Well, I say they,….Sarah, 4, won’t sleep in anything but her underpants!  But I expect (hope) that to change when the real cooler weather hits in about a month.  I set to work yesterday on Lilianne’s tracing from a pair of her pants.  Let’s just say that cute pair are now in the scrap pile….too tight and waaaaaaaayy too short in the crotch.  On to attemp #2.  I picked a not-so-special king size pillowcase and made everything a little bigger and aside from them being a little too long (easily rememded with a quick hem) they worked great.  And, boy, are they quick to sew!  Love it.  Four seams and you’re done! Anyone interested in a tutorial?

So after the kids went to bed, I went down to my sewing room (messy AGAIN from the dance bag project) and hand picked several pillowcases for the girls.  For some reason, it had not occured to me that those vintage cases don’t come in king-size for my leggy 6yr old (the pair that worked wasn’t vintage, but was a king-size), so I’m expecting a little “fussing and patching” to take care of the length.  No Biggie.  Next post, with any luck, I’ll show you some finished PJ pants!

Plans for the weekend?  Tomorrow, Kris and Aidan are heading out for a day of Father/Son bonding leaving me and the girls here at home.  Besides sewing, I’m planning on getting all the kids fall/winter clothes out of storage and deciding what fits this year and what gets passed down or packed away for later.  Also going to unearth the baby stuff and see what I have to work with for bundle #4.  What are your big plans for the weekend?  Got anything special going on?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. laura permalink
    September 11, 2009 10:20 am

    Please, please, Please on the tutorial!!! 🙂

  2. September 13, 2009 2:47 pm

    Yes the tutorial would be great.
    Weekend spent cooking, sewing, walking,and chatting to friends. It has been Indian Summer weather, so warm, yet a nip in the air in the mornings.
    Weekend just about over – never enough hours in the day to do everything.
    Have a good week and look forward to seeing the completed PJ pants

  3. September 17, 2009 8:57 am

    Thanks for stopping by the prairie girl the other day. I am loving your site and would definitely like to see a tutorial on the pillowcase pants. I have the exact same sheet on top of your stack, the yellow floraly one. Small world, isn’t it?

  4. September 17, 2009 10:07 am

    Jennifer, this is my first time to drop in. I came by way of Goosiegirl. I’d love to see how you made the pjs. That’s a wonderful pillow case stash!

  5. September 17, 2009 1:11 pm

    I would love a tutorial. I tried to make pjs for christmas last year for all three. followed a pattern and the pants were too tight and too short in the crotch too. ugh. and all that cute flannel to waist. I guess I need to make them WWAAAAYYYY bigger than I think.

Leave a Reply

