Skip to content

Hand quilting has begun…

September 10, 2009

Morning!  I can’t believe it’s Thursday already.  I find myself, every Friday, saying to myself, “Is it really Friday AGAIN?”  Time seems to be running by while I slowly meander along at a nice stroll……..and by stroll I mean old lady pace while stopping often for closer inspection of the flowers.  Anywho….I thought I ‘d give an update on the baby quilt.  You can follow the process here, here and here …….

 

I’ve had the sashing on for a while now and have “sandwiched” the quilt with a single layer of  Warm & Natural batting.  I pieced together a few different fabrics for the backing and I”m really happy with the outcome. 

Having said that, see that large med. brown fabric that covers 2/3 of the backing?  With the ivory leafy pattern and birds on it?  I broke down and had to buy some fabric for the backing as I didn’t have any 1 piece of matching fabric large enough.  The lovely ladies at the fabric store helped me find it and we all thought it would look great.  I bring it home and can’t wait to show the hubby and get started.  I snatch it out of the bag, all breathless and excited and just know that he will think it’s cool.  And instead of the calm smile I was expecting, he gives me this hesitant look and crinkles up his face.  He says “it’s flowery“….and I stand there, wide-eyed, and say “no… it’s not!…it’s leafy……and nature inspired………see the leaves?…………..and the birds?…………………it’s brown and cream and orange!” and then he just looks apologetic and tells me that he thinks it’s girly, but that if I like it then he’s sure it’ll be fine.  So we end it there and I walk off feeling a little deflated and not as eager to get to work on it.  I gave it a week or so to consider whether I wanted to buy a different print or just go with it.  In the end, I took a deep breath and decided to “just go with it”.  I added a piece-y strip and the orange polka-dots  and used the  nature inspired brown print on the bottom 2/3rds of the backing.  And you know what?  I love it!  So girly or not, this boy bun-in-the-oven will be wrapped up in it by Christmas! 

 

I started hand quilting it about a week ago and I can tell that it’s going to be a slow process.  I chose a nice gold color of thread and will just border all the little blocks.  And, granted, I’m not the best hand quilter out there.  But that’s okay.  Something tells me the recipient won’t care a bit about how small and even my stitches are.

 

So, what do you think?  Think it’s too girly for my “manly”  baby boy coming in December?   I’m sticking with my “nature inspired” point of view!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 9:07 am

    i think it is “manly”! my husband has said the “that’s kinda girly” comment to me too. annoying isn’t it? it’s a beautiful quilt, and i think you should be proud!

  2. September 10, 2009 3:20 pm

    A beautiful quilt to be proud of.

    • January 2, 2015 12:23 pm

      If not for your writing this topic could be very coeotluvnd and oblique.

  3. September 11, 2009 3:35 pm

    Honestly, I don’t think it’s too girly at all. But then again, I am a girl. Could you tell me what the fabrics are? They’re lovely modern prints and colours – I think you’ve put it together marvellously well and I agree that the most important one, the little recipient, won’t mind in the slightest about your stitching 🙂

    Diana

  4. September 15, 2009 10:10 am

    I love how vivid the quilt is! The hand-quilting looks perfect!

  5. crafteegyrl permalink
    September 16, 2009 4:57 pm

    I love, Love, LOVE that quilt! Those fabrics and the combination of all of them together are just GORGEOUS! I actually don’t like birds in general, but I’m loving them in fabric and crafts…LOL! I just found your blog through a comment you left at SouleMama…Glad I did 🙂

    Glad you stuck with the brown “nature-inspired” fabric. I’m sure your sweet baby boy will be “man” enough to love it!

    -Heather
    http://www.crafteegyrl.wordpress.com
    http://www.crafteegyrl.etsy.com

  6. September 18, 2009 6:30 am

    Wow… your quilt is amazing. I love all the fabrics you paired together. So often I see people sticking to one designer because it’s “safe”, but it takes skill to do what you did. Love it!

  7. September 21, 2009 12:27 pm

    you should check out this site: http://www.spiritcloth.typepad.com/

    amazing hand quilting.

  8. Kim Beck permalink
    September 27, 2009 1:14 am

    Hey girl! I haven’t been on your blog in FOREVER! I miss you so much! Looks like you’ve got a picture perfect life over there in NC. And that pic of you and Kris reminded me of your wedding day! You guys really haven’t changed a BIT! Kris has a bit more facial hair, but that’s about it! Your kids are GORGEOUS! And congrats on #4 coming along! It’s been way too long, girl. I miss ya.
    love you.
    kim
    PS. This quilt is amazing. And, yes, it’s perfect for a boy. Love the blues and browns. Just beautiful. You really have incredible talent!

Trackbacks

  1. Vintage Finds… « Minivan Life

Leave a Reply

