Skip to content

Dance bag…finished on time!

September 9, 2009

Whew!  I finished Sarah’s bag yesterday afternoon just before we left for dance classes.  She had requested a back-pack style bag in purple and yellow…her favorite colors.  She chose the purple fish and yellow bow fabric and I added in the other three fabrics from my vintage linens stash to accent.  Sigh…how I love vintage…….um…Anyway, as I worked on the bag, it changed direction.  I thought an over-the-shoulder style messenger might be easier for her to handle and get on and off because, come on, haven’t we all seen the kid that gets one arm thru his backpack strap and then turns in circles playing “follow the strap” trying to get the other one on?!  Funny, but not practical.  I put a drawstring ribbon at the top just in case she needs it and let her choose a ribbon from my ribbon box.  So even though it didn’t turn out as we had planned it, she LOVES it.  And that is all that matters to me!

And as is typical of sisters, when Lilianne saw Sarah’s new bag, she felt hers was all of a sudden “a little boring”.  So we put our heads together and remedied the situation…with a vintage fabric flower I thrifted quite a while back.  Pinned it on where she wanted it and we were good to go!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Daisy permalink
    September 9, 2009 10:47 am

    We love it! My daughter (10yo) wants to sew so badly. I can teach her basic hand stitches but we don’t have a machine. I’m green with envy at your beautiful creations. Maybe I’ll have to break down and ask Santa for a sewing machine. I havne’t used one in AGES though. They are probably all new-fangled now. LOL.

  2. September 9, 2009 11:52 am

    I LOVE them!!!

  3. September 9, 2009 4:02 pm

    Those bags are so cute and I am sure they will be treasured. Do you have a tutorial for the flower?

    • minivanlife permalink*
      September 9, 2009 6:47 pm

      Thanks Ann! I bought that particular flower on a thrifting adventure. I did however find a list of tutorials on Sewmamasew.com
      I should give some of these a try myself!!

  4. September 15, 2009 8:48 am

    These are so pretty!

  5. January 2, 2015 2:03 am

    Now we know who the sesnbile one is here. Great post!

Leave a Reply

