Skip to content

Who stole my Creativity?!

September 4, 2009

I find myself feeling not so crafty these past few days…I go into my sewing room, play around a little and then leave experiencing that “ugh” feeling.  So this morning, I start wondering “Why“?  Just last week I felt inspired…no less than 10 new projects clouded my mind.  I couldn’t wait to escape to my little sewing room and stitch a little.  So what happened?  This morning I realized what the problem is.  Want to see it?  Be forwarned…it’s not pretty…as a matter of fact…it’s a little, OK a lot, grotesque.  Seriously, if you’re having breakfast or your morning coffee, you may want to just find an exit right now.  I wouldn’t want to be held responsible for making your morning go so very bad so very early!!  But, if you feel you can handle it…if you feel you have a strong consitution…and you’re feeling brave, take a look at this….THIS is the very reason my sewing “want to” has left the building…

are you ready…are you sure?!….OK, here goes…

Frightening isn’t it?!  I JUST cleaned this room 2 weeks ago.  I swear, I really did! 

It just keeps getting worse doesn’t it?

OH…the HORROR!!!…gag…

Atrocious….repulsive

And, seriously, is that BLEACH sitting on top of my fabric shelf?!!!  I want to know WHO left that there?!  Because I know that any gal who loves fabric as much as I do would NEVER leave a bottle of bleach just waiting to be spilled on all that loveliness.  Who was it?!  ……sigh, it must have been that crazy lady who needed it to clean out the drain hose from the air conditioner.  She’s a little dense sometimes and a lot forgetful…but you know,  she’s IS 6 mo pregnant and a homeschooling mother of 3… guess I should cut her some slack….maybe.

So, today, since I have no where to go today (YAY!) and nothing pressing other than school with the kids, I will clean up the monstrosity that is my sewing room.  And I shall remain vigil in the hope that creativity shall return.  Check in later today and I may just have some updated pictures of a room of my basement hidaway that inspire me!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2009 9:47 am

    The “arteest” is given permission and license to have a room like this. I think most creative people tend to be a little disorganized in their creative frenzies! Don’t be hard on yourself 🙂 Martha Stewart has someone to clean up after her 🙂

  2. September 4, 2009 1:38 pm

    Yeah, don’t be hard on yourself. Your space looks pretty clean to me. Hee. (I don’t want to talk about my studio.)

    I know that feeling tho, “Wait, I just cleaned this up!” And I’ll admit, I work better in a cleaner space. But knowing that doesn’t motivate me to keep it clean when I’m in the middle of a line. Who has time to fold remnants when they’re creating!

    Hang in there. But, uh, move the bleach! 😀

  3. September 4, 2009 3:17 pm

    Sometimes it is good to work in a mess and then have a big clean up and look back and say wow it looks really good now. So be inspired, have a good clean up and I am sure you will find some interesting fabrics tucked away that you will want to use for some new projects. Have fun and I look forward to seeing a photograph of the new room.

  4. September 6, 2009 5:27 pm

    Hey no worries…..I go through the same thing…..I am glad to see I am not the only messy crafter! LOVED the pics! cherry

  5. beth permalink
    September 8, 2009 12:41 pm

    Do you know why we are such good friends? Because it looks just like our closet our freshman year of college!!

    Seriously, I was rocking and rolling on keeping the house together for the first time in my life. I was even getting past the keeping the house straight and deep cleaning out some stuff. Then, guess what happened? We got a baby. My house is disgusting. I wouldn’t even DARE post a picture of it.

    That’s why we are friends…our messiness keeps us bonded!

  6. September 8, 2009 2:08 pm

    Aww it’s not so bad, though I do hope you moved the bleach. 😉

  7. Michelle permalink
    September 16, 2009 9:32 am

    I wonder where you buy the plastic bins with white lids? and what are their names?
    thanks, and don´t be so harsh on yourself!

  8. minivanlife permalink*
    September 16, 2009 9:48 am

    Michelle, those are just Sterilite storage bins that I bought from Walmart. Thanks!

  9. Michelle permalink
    September 16, 2009 12:09 pm

    Thanks for the reply!
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

