Skip to content

Crayfish and Sashing…

September 1, 2009

My oldest, 8, is taking advantage of the last days of summer by hunting for “creatures” in our stream in the front yard.  He’s found crayfish, salamanders of all kinds, tadpoles, frogs and even caught a few tiny fish on a homemade rod of his.  Bampoo stick with fishing line threaded thru a hole…goodness, I love that boy!   Boys have such ingenuity!  He misses being able to find those things in the during the sparseness of the winter.  Here’s  a recent “catch” of his…

 

The baby quilt is coming along nicely for my little bun in the oven.  I got a little time to work on it last night.  Holed up in my sewing room and put Mamma Mia into the laptop disk drive and sang my through the fabric decisions! Luckily my fabric stash doesn’t hold my off-key warbling against me.  Decided to focus on blues and greens for the sashing and got it halfway sewn on.  I expect to start working on the backing today.  I’ve been dying to get it all “sandwiched” so I can start the hand quilting.  Looking forward to that as a cozy fall project!  The changing weather is bringing on crafting fever…so many ideas….so little time.  When do you find the best time to get your sewing/crafting done?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 8:20 am

    What a gorgeous blanket! Love it, your little one is so blessed 🙂

  2. September 1, 2009 8:52 am

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the quilt! I have always wanted to quilt but have not actually but actions behind the desire! Any tips for a beginner?

  3. minivanlife permalink*
    September 1, 2009 9:04 am

    Well, Trinity Mommy, I’m a beginner myself! This is only the 2nd one I’ve made. I have a tendency to just jump and go for it. The first one I just made a bunch of 4 in. squares and ramdomly sewed them together. You should definitely give it a try…I REALLY love it!

Leave a Reply

