Skip to content

Tooth Fairy kind of Morning…

August 27, 2009

At 5am on Monday morning I was awakened with the realization that the Tooth Fairy had forgotten to make her visit to Lilianne, my 6 yr old.  Now this is critical, because it wasn’t the first time.  My poor son, our oldest, has encountered the forgetful Tooth Fairy twice before.  And I had seen the disappointed looks firsthand.  Talk about some serious Mommy guilt.  I tried to explain that the Tooth Fairy is a very busy very tiny fairy with lots of stops to make every night.  Sometimes she just can’t make it time.  That worked for him…he had compassion on the poor busy Tooth Fairy.  But I didn’t want that to be the case this time.  She had pulled this tooth herself.  And I was at my Mothers house…and my Mother would kill me!  So anyway, the Tooth Fairy jolted awake and started rooting thru my purse and hubby’s wallet and came up with a dollar bill.  Tiptoed as soundlessly as an almost 6 mo pregnant fairy is capable and made the exchange.  Whew…she didn’t wake up and the fairy went back to bed….to lie there….and listen to her hubby breathe….and breathe some more. 

I noticed a tiny bit of light coming in from outside and made the decision to throw on some pants and shoes and take a walk with the camera.  I walked and photographed nature for about an hour and a half that morning.  I enjoyed every moment.  So peaceful.  I’ve already shown you a few glimpses of the sunrise (you can see them here), but there was so much more I want to share.  First…. a shot of me and my belly shadowed on someone’s mailbox….

Now, some of the scenery I saw as the sun rose…

A few things I noticed while walking….Canadian Geese in their pond…

…deer tracks…

…the cotton crop blooming…

…my step-dad, Wade, out looking over his crop of grits corn…

…looks like a dog was tracking a deer…

…gorgeous bark from a River Birch tree…

…a dragonfly….

…a birds nest found with bits of egg shell still in it on the ground.  We brought it home to put on our nature table…

…And this is the sight I returned to…the most beautiful sight of the whole walk!  My two oldest heading out to the dock to fish…

…and my sweet handsome husband heading out to watch over them….coffee in hand…

…my boy’s all time favorite hobby…he comes from a long line of fishermen…

…learning to bait her own hook with a worm…she wasn’t fond of the “ick” factor…

…such concentration…

…the first catch of the day…a brim….and really, could any walk end any more perfect?

And believe it or not, there are more photos of the morning.  If you’ve any interest in seeing them you can find them here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2009 10:32 am

    What beautiful pictures! Thank you for sharing, and thank you for visiting my blog!

  2. August 27, 2009 12:34 pm

    Wow. what a wonderful morning capturing those photographs – I was right there with you.
    Look like a heavenly place to live.

  3. August 27, 2009 6:28 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog!! It looks like the tooth fairy had a productive morning after all!

  4. August 27, 2009 8:07 pm

    These are GORGEOUS pics!!!!! and that one of your shadow is precious!

  5. August 27, 2009 10:16 pm

    I love your self portrait in shadow!

  6. September 4, 2009 11:25 pm

    I am reading through your back posts and just had to comment on these beautiful photos!! I love the self portrait, that is really neat! Happy weekend to you : )

Leave a Reply

