Skip to content

Fabric picking

August 19, 2009

   What is it about cleaning out a craft room that inspires the creative mojo?  I honestly haven’t touched my sewing machine in months.  But, as I was cleaning and putting away, fussing over all that lovely fabric, new projects were filling my mind.  A sweet skirt for Lilianne, comfy shorts for Sarah (who seems to be eschewing all forms of clothing other than her panties these days!) and some sleeping shorts for Aidan.  Oh and projects for the new baby?  Ideas were flying right and left …….and then also the realization that most all my fabric is extremely girly!  But I was determined that I could find plenty to start on a quilt for the new babe.  I still have a few months to create as this boy is due Christmas day.  So from my stash, I plucked colors that I liked, steering clear of overtly feminine fabrics. I really wanted to use fabrics that I have in my stash and not buy anything new for this project.  Came up with a red, blue, gold and white scheme.   But I just wasn’t feelin’ it.  So I worked on gathering fabrics matching and blending with a great orange dot that I’ve always loved but never quite had the project for.  Oranges, creams, navy, turquoise, green, gold and browns.   I really like what I’ve come up with and am hoping that it will end up how I picture it.  My kids all thought it looked girly as there are some florals in the mix.  But the hubby disagreed and sided with me.  Sweet man I have there!

   I got it all cut out yesterday afternoon and started sewing last night.  It will be a disappearing 9 patch design. I don’t have a walking foot for my sewing machine so I have to decide whether to give hand quilting a try or just go with hand tying.  What do you think?  Binding and backing choices haven’t been made yet.   But I plan on a little a little “patching” of fabrics on the back instead of just one fabric.  I’ll decide all that as inspriation hits.  I did  take a piece of old diaper flannel and pinned it to my wall to use as a quilt design wall.  Very handy!  I’ll enjoy using that on lots of future projects!

Anyone want to weigh in on the hand quilting versus hand tying of this quilt?  I’d love to have some opinions.  Have a wonderful day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jownby permalink
    August 19, 2009 9:53 am

    I really, really like these colors together.

  2. August 19, 2009 3:15 pm

    This is going to look amazing! Congrats on the new baby, I like the name of your blog. I should change the name of mine to Eurovanlife, but it’s just blown an oil leak. Doh!

Trackbacks

  1. Hand quilting has begun… « Minivan Life

Leave a Reply

