Skip to content

Interesting Article

August 20, 2008

I read an excellent blog post today referring to this article.  I found it an interesting read that I think not only pertains to “schooled” kids but to homeschoolers as well.  Do you think you are guilty of making your child/children the center of your universe? I would say that there are probably some tendencies to do this in our home.  As a mother, I sometimes work on auto-pilot and as things are asked of me, I reply “sure, why not”  without even really thinking about it.  My children will try to bargain with me because they know that I will often change my mind.  Am I proud of that?  Of course not.  Sometimes I wish I were one of those people who only see things in black or white, right or wrong, but I am sooo not.  Ask anyone who knows me and they will tell you that I am the worst decision maker in the entire world…in the entire universe.  I can see 15 different sides to every argument. Never quite sure which stand to take.  Due to this, I am often inconsistent with my parenting views.   

How much of your universe do you center around your kids?  Do you think it too much or not enough?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2008 6:59 pm

    I don’t even know. I’m the kinda person who hates seeing parents give into their kids but my son screams so hard that I’m finding myself give in too often because I don’t feel like dealing with it anymore. I really try to have a family centred home and not just a child-centred home.

  2. January 2, 2015 4:39 am

    If you’re looking to buy these arctelis make it way easier.

Leave a Reply

