Skip to content

Summer Reckoning: 43 days remaining

August 10, 2008
 

Morning sun over our front yard

Morning everyone!  I am still learning the ins and outs of WordPress so please bear with me and any weirdness going on with the blog. 

Morning sun on the willow tree

Morning sun on the Willow tree

  Yesterday, we started moving everyone’s rooms around in our house. When we bought this home just over a year ago, I knew that my 3 children would be sharing a room for a while.  It’s a two level home with two bedrooms upstairs and one downstairs directly below the upstairs bedrooms.  Well, we decided to moved into the master bedroom and put the 3 kids in the room right across from us on the top floor, with the hope that our son(7) would want his own room and area downstairs sometime soon.  Um, yeah right. I don’t know what we were thinking.  Maybe when he’s a teenager or something, but that fellow wants no part of being downstairs by himself….and I really can’t blame him.  I don’t think I would want to be down there alone either.  Sooooo, in an effort to give my boy his own room and my girls actual space to put their girly toys IN their room and be able to play, Kris and I are giving up the large master bedroom and moving downstairs to a much smaller room.  The girls will share the master and Aidan is getting his own room.  They have no concerns about us moving downstairs (although I do!) as long as they are together.   Needless to say, our home is a wreck and I feel like I am moving into a new house AGAIN. To say that I have concerns about sleeping on a different floor than my children would be the understatement of the year.  But, a baby monitor will be communicating any noises going about up there and we can hear any footstep directly above our heads.  Anyone out there have the master on a different floor as your kids?  Is it working for you?  Any pearls of wisdom for this nervous Mama?!

Morning sun on the kids rockers

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I love the sweet smell of dawn –
our unique daily opportunity to smell time,
to smell opportunity –
each morning being, a new beginning.

~Emme Woodhull-Bäche

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2008 4:26 pm

    Beautiful view you have, I love the bridge.

  2. August 12, 2008 12:14 pm

    Oh what beautiful pictures, all of them! My daughter is 16, and I don’t think she would want to have her bedroom downstairs alone… 🙂

  3. August 19, 2008 4:38 pm

    I’d never dealt with this till we moved to Montana last September. For the first time my kids were upstairs and the master was downstairs. I felt so weird-because they were IN the house, it’s not as if I’d sent them off to college, and yet I felt like they were so far away. My oldest was newly 9 at that point and he and his 7 and 5 yr old brothers shared a room (big) that was directly over the master. After a few weeks I did adjust–but I am right there with you…it was hard and weird at first.

  4. Heather permalink
    August 20, 2008 8:35 pm

    I just found your blog through Beautythatmoves. I have a cape and my two boys share a room and my daughter has her own room, all upstairs. I am downstairs. I love it, and I used a baby monitor for four years!! It took some getting used to, but now I like that they have their own space and I have mine. It makes adult time much nicer!

Trackbacks

  1. Summer Reckoning: 34 days remaining « Minivan Life

Leave a Reply

