Skip to content

Summer Reckoning: 44 days remaining

August 9, 2008

Aidan and I headed out first thing in the morning to investigate yesterday’s finding in the garden.  Wanna see?

 

It’s eggs!  We’re thinking that these may be White Cabbage Butterfly eggs, but we’re not sure.  Any ideas?

 

Oh look!  Some have already hatched.  These certainly don’t look like caterpillars to me!!

 

What do you think?

 

We found 5 different patches of eggs. 

 

It seems they are yellow and then turn white before hatching.

Aidan very gingerly tore off 2 of the patches from the zucchini plant so we could observe them from inside the house.   

Oops one egg fell off!  Look how tiny they are.

We’ll transfer them to the butterfly habitat that we’ve used before to hatch butterflies and see what happens.  Much more study is required I’m thinking.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hmmm, so we came inside to google the eggs.  And we found they are NOT butterfly eggs at all.  They are Spotted Cucumber Beetle eggs.  As it happens, I even took a picture of an adult cucumber beetle.

  A particularly nasty beetle that damages agricultural crops.  Now for some research on natural ways to treat this pest.  Even more learning opportunities for both the kids and me!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2008 2:37 pm

    I had those two years ago. They destroyed my cucumbers. I can’t remember what I did to ge rid of them. I think mulch and merigolds? But then the next year I had slug probems because of the mulch… Yeah, I remember transplanting my merigolds all around my cukes trying to save them.

  2. August 10, 2008 3:21 am

    We always plant marigolds around our tomatoes and veggies to keep the bugs away. I think you can mix dish soap and water in a squirt bottle and spay all sides of the leaves and that will safely get rid of the pests. It works for aphids on roses…
    Penny

Leave a Reply

