Skip to content

Summer Reckoning: 47 days remaining

August 6, 2008

This how my children have spent the majority of their afternoons this summer.  The tallest boy there on the left is our neighbor and is adored by all three of my kids.  I’m contantantly being shown salamanders, frogs, fish and crayfish of all sizes and colors.  This stream runs the width of our front yard in a fork-like fashion.  The two streams you see here meet at the left side of the yard.  And I must admit to daily dipping my toes in the cool water! 

 

 

I bought this purple butterfly bush as a spindly little sprig for $1 at a church bazaar last year.  It is about 6ft tall this year! And the butterflies LOVE it!  At the time that I was taking these pictures, I counted 6 different butterfly species.  It is constantly surrounded by a bevy of these beauties, giving my children and myself unending entertainment. 

 

We started back to schooling this week.  I’ve tried a variety of curiculums and styles of teaching with Aidan over the past two years.  Aidan loves science and math.  Reading…not so much.  This year I’ve decided to go with a Charlotte Mason approach to learning using a lot of quality books.  We’ll be using Ambleside Online yr 1 with Aidan and Ambleside Online yr K with Lilianne.  The curriculum levels are not based on grade level, but on reading and comprehension level. So while Aidan is in 2nd grade for reading, I felt that the AO yr1 would be an excellent fit for him.  And while we’ve only been using it for 2 days, Aidan loves it!  He looks forward to hearing the stories and narrating them back to me.  I can’t even tell you how much that excites me!

 

“Summer is the time when one sheds one’s tensions with one’s clothes, and the right kind of day is jeweled balm for the battered spirit.  A few of those days and you can become drunk with the belief that all’s right with the world.”  ~Ada Louise Huxtable

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

