Skip to content

“Hey good lookin’….

February 24, 2010

…What ‘cha got cookin?”

“Hello.  My name is Brandy……. and  I’m a chocoholic. ”

My brownie recipe need tweaking now that I’m dairy free (nursing dairy sensitive babe).  I NEED chocolate.  And for the present, my chocolate fix is limited to Junior Mints (that I admittedly love) and Ghirardelli’s semi sweet chocolate chips (yummmmm).  But sometimes a girl just wants to bake!  Needs to bake!  Here’s what I’ve come up with if you ever find yourself in need of a dairy free brownie…  or in need of a seriously fudgy brownie.  And we like ‘em fudgy around here…as in “will not come out of the pan in one piece fudgy”.  Is fudgy a real word?  Because it’s sounding a little weird at this point…..  anyway… on to the recipe

Dairy Free Fudge Brownies

  • 3/4 cup cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2/3 cup oil (your choice canola or veg.) divided into 2 different 1/3 amounts
  • 1/2 cup boiling water
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1 & 1/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Preheat oven at 350 degrees. Whisk cocoa and baking soda together in large mixing bowl to remove any lumps.  Add in 1/3 cup oil and mix until smooth.  Next add the 1/2 cup boiling water and stir until well mixed and thickened.  Now add 2 cups sugar, 2 slightly beaten eggs and 1/3 cup oil.  Stir.  Add flour, vanilla and salt.  Stir until JUST mixed.  (don’t beat the heck out of it!).  Now poor into a greased 9×13 in pan and bake in a 350 degree oven for 35-40 min.

Try to allow it too cool for an hour or so before cutting.  Although we rarely do if I’m being honest.  Now cut and enjoy!

And now for a totally unrelated brownie note… this weekend I found green tomatoes at the grocery store.  So last night I whipped up a batch of Fried Green Tomatoes…. YUM!  I also tried out this recipe that I read about over at By Sun and Candlelight.  We ate it sans bread however.  It really was good!

Have you tried any new recipes out lately that you loved lately?  Care to share?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 3:16 pm

    I just found your blog this week, and although I don’t remember how, I am glad I did. I’ve enjoyed reading over your posts. We’re in So. Ga. right now, but come from the upstate of SC, not too far from where I think you all reside (not stalking, just familiar with some of the scenery). It makes me look forward to retiring up that way, when the time comes!

  2. February 25, 2010 6:27 pm

    these brownies look oh so delicious! i used to be vegan, and will be soon again…so i’m always on the lookout for animal-free recipes! this is great.

  3. February 26, 2010 2:26 am

    Wow – those brownies are vegan? They look amazing. I should bake and feed some to my lactose intolerant boyfriend! :)

  4. March 5, 2010 11:57 am

    Thanks for sharing the brownie recipe. My mother is lactose intolerant and would love eating something with chocolate in it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

