Skip to content

Collections…

February 23, 2010

Do you collect anything? I don’t consider myself a collector.  But I guess I am in a way.  And it’s usually only vintage things…  milk glass, Pyrex, red handled kitchen utensils, fabric, tableclothes and linens.  But really, I buy whatever catches my fancy.  I’ve always loved antiques and went antiquing with my Mom countless times growing up.  I didn’t start thrifting until just a few years ago.  And let me tell you, I love it!

Every item in this photo was either thrifted or bought at an antique store.  The shelf is actually part of a hutch that I picked up from a small roadside flea market.  It’s a cream color that someone had started removing the paint from.  I have considered painting it, and I still may, but I love it as is for now.  The milk glass hobnail pitcher and 5 matching glasses is something that my mom and I spied on one of our thrifting/antiquing outings.  I loved it and she insisted on buying it for me.  I adore my mom!  She is so much fun to shop with.  And we love to do that kind of stuff together.  I hope that one day my kids will enjoy those kinds of things with me as well.  The daisy salt and pepper set I found at a thrift store.  And the milk glass chicken and doily at another thrift shop.  I make it a point to use these items all the time.  And every time I do, I can’t help but smile.

I’m curious… do you consider yourself a collector?  What do you collect?  And do you find more joy out of displaying it or using it?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Gracie permalink
    February 24, 2010 1:21 am

    If buying vintage clothes counts as a collection, then yes. Haha. Hitting the antique stores is such a fun activity, which I too got the passion to from my mother. That milk glass pitcher is adorable! I don’t think i’ve seen any pitchers before (odd, considering my great grandmothers insane amount of milk glass pieces)

  2. February 24, 2010 2:31 am

    I love your milk glass collection. I’ve just started collecting it myself :).

  3. February 24, 2010 12:33 pm

    Your collection is so pretty, love the white milk glass against the yellow.

  4. February 24, 2010 4:02 pm

    Loooove milk glass, although I think that’s the one thing I havent started collecting. I’m trying to scale back, but I have a huge weakness for vintage bowls, any kind.

  5. February 24, 2010 6:10 pm

    I collect books. Hundreds and hundreds and hundreds of books! Mostly children’s books, but all sorts of others as well. We have a room in our house that we call “The Library”… bookshelves from floor to ceiling!

  6. February 24, 2010 6:41 pm

    this is a beautiful collection!! i love the white on cream with doses of yellow. i love that you use your items. most of the time i am a little too nervous, because i am a bit clumsy and break things easily. so breakables i usually leave on the shelf, but i do enjoy using vintage linens and furniture. i especially love finding new uses for traditional items. like doilies, pillow cases, towels, etc… They make great window treatments.

  7. February 25, 2010 2:26 pm

    I LOOOVE YOUR COLLECTION!!! the milk white and the yellow… perfect combo.

    i collect artsy roosters for our kitchen. lol it’s an inside joke between my husband-to-be and i. When i was a news anchor back in texas and he would fill in on my weekend morning show as the meteorologist, we had a story about a cock f fighting bust. I refused to say cock on air and said rooster fighting instead ;) since then, we’ve collected them for our kitchen. lol

    i also collect postcards and different covers of the classic, Lolita.

  8. March 23, 2010 10:01 am

    I love milk glass — especially the hobnail. And I can’t resist enamelwear especially coffee and tea pots.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

