Skip to content

Homemade Pizza & a Movie

February 21, 2010

Typically, in our family, Saturday night is reserved for Family Movie Night.  We take our food downstairs to the den and eat while we watch a family friendly movie.  This past weekend our movie night was postponed until Sunday night.  Mainly due to the fact that I didn’t make it to the grocery store on Saturday and we didn’t have what I needed to make homemade pizza.  But by Sunday afternoon, I had corrected that error.  So after I straightened up the crap oops excuse me… craft room, I put together the ingredients for the dough and let it rise…

I used a basic pizza dough recipe from the Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen cookbook…tripled… I really like it.  Great flavor, crispy edges with a chewy bite.

This past week, Jennifer over on The Prairie Girl , was saying that she preps a large batch of tomato sauce at the beginning of the week to use in various dinners throughout the rest of the week (they have their pizza/movie nights on Fridays).  I thought this was a fantastic idea and followed her basic recipe for the sauce.  Started with some olive oil in a skillet… threw in some chopped onion and garlic… added some canned tomatoes followed by salt, pepper, oregano, basil, and a little sugar… then let it simmer while I nursed Jacob and chopped the veggies (not simultaneously!).

I made 3 different pizzas (we had leftovers);

1 pepperoni & cheese

1 pepperoni, cheese, black olive and red & yellow bell peppers

1 pepperoni, black olive and red & yellow bell peppers with NO cheese

Until I started nursing my kids (all have been sensitive to dairy), I had never tried a pizza with no cheese.  And quite frankly, I wouldn’t have wanted to.  Pizza with no cheese just sounded….. wrong.  Very very wrong. But I have always loved a good pizza, so when I started nursing, I had to find a way to make it work.  And to my surprise, I love it!  You can really enjoy all the flavors of the pizza and it leaves you not feeling so heavy afterwards.  Try it sometime if you never have.  It really is fantastic!

Anyway, we watched The Secret Garden while we munched on homemade pizza and really enjoyed it.  It was the kids first time seeing it.  Such a lovely movie.

Does your family have movie night?  If you do, what are your favorite family movies and dinners?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 10:03 am

    We tried to start family movie night, but it never caught on. That was over a year ago, so we should probably try again. We do homemade pizza at least once a week. Something new we’ve started doing is adding chicken to our pizza instead of pepperoni, mostly because I always seem to be out of pepperoni.

  2. February 22, 2010 11:15 am

    Your pizza looks great, when I couldn’t eat dairy with our second son nursing, I ate pizza without the cheese as well. Not too bad when you are really craving pizza. Yup, our family movie night is on Friday and we enjoy lots of different movies. We just watched A Little Princess.

  3. Joyce Keen permalink
    February 22, 2010 2:06 pm

    I know I must have the smartest daughter-in-law in the world. Where does she find the time? She is a good mom, wife and a great daughter -in-law. You never cease to amaze me if all you have time to do.

    love ya
    Joyce

  4. February 23, 2010 5:55 am

    Omigosh, that looks SO delicious! When my kids were little, we used to have what we called a “snuggle movie.” It was just a time to watch one of their favorite movies, all snuggled up together in the family room. Sometimes we would have popcorn, or fresh baked cookies. They are 18 and 22 now, and we can all still quote lines from The Sandlot or The Princess Bride, and many other favorites as well…

    Thanks for the sweet memories! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

